Here When You Need Us - Including Nights & Weekends

The First Steps for Workers’ Compensation

work comp blogNo one likes to think about getting hurt, especially if your injury means losing your financial stability – even for a temporary period of time. The State of Montana imposes strict and required workers’ compensation rules on employers. Unless otherwise excluded, employers with employees are required to provide insurance. This applies to all full-time, part-time, seasonal, and occasional employees. If you are a worker in Montana, these rights are for you. So, what are the most important things to do after you suffer a workplace injury?

Alert Your Immediate Supervisor

The first two steps to the workers’ compensation process can be interchangeable depending on the severity of the injury. In cases where medical attention is not required emergently, it is important that your first step be to alert your immediate supervisor, owner of the company, or human resources department. Make sure to get familiar with your employee handbook prior to any workplace injury so you understand the chain of command in these events. Your employer will then need to provide you (typically within the first 24-48 hours of the incident) with a workers’ claim form while they interview witnesses and get additional information about the incident.

Seek Medical Attention

Again, seeking medical attention should be priority if your injury requires emergency medical intervention. Whether you have a co-worker call for help (such as an ambulance) or you have to leave your work environment to obtain medical attention, never place your employment over your life. There are protections in place for Montana workers to get the immediate medical attention they need in these situations. If you worry you may be terminated for leaving the job site in cases of a workplace injury, contact our workers’ compensation attorneys immediately.

File Your Montana Workers’ Compensation Claim

In Montana, there is a statute of limitations for filing a workers’ compensation claim of one year from the date of the injury or illness, or within two years if the employee can prove not knowing about the injury. – so don’t wait! We understand that in major instances, you may be dealing with healing, physical therapy, doctor visits, emotional trauma, etc. It is imperative that you understand the priority of submitting your workers’ compensation claim

Get the Attorneys at Rimrock Law on Your Side

Unfortunately, while many Montana employers have your wellbeing in mind – the insurance companies do not. We wish we could tell you that being compensated through workers’ compensation was easy, but there will be situations where the insurance company will give you a lot of push back. Don’t let these companies stomp on your employee rights.

Our attorneys, Matt Braukmann and James Dallner, have been dealing with these cases for 19 years and are experienced in taking on these big insurance agencies so you don’t have to. We have your best interest in mind and will fight to get you what you deserve. If you need help pursuing your workers’ compensation claim in Montana, schedule a free consult with us today.

Call Now Button